To End With

The Dynamic Wonders have found out through extensive research that it is a common myth in the english language that you can’t end a sentence with a preposisiton. In the Latin language it is not acceptable to end a sentence with a preposition, however in both American and British English you are allowed. You can end a sentence with a preposition when the preposition is critical to the meaning of the sentence. The Grammar Girl gives this example

You can’t say, “What did you step?” You need to say, “What did you step on?” to make a grammatical sentence.

We think that is a perfect note to end on. 🙂

References:
Blue, Tina. “It’s Usually Not Wrong to End a Sentence with a Preposition.” Grammar and Usage for the Non-Expert. 22 Apr. 2009 .

Jacobsen, Roy. “Is a preposition something you should end a sentence with? – Notebook – Writing, Clear and Simple.” Notebook – Writing, Clear and Simple. 18 Oct. 2005. 22 Apr. 2009 .

“Lynch, Guide to Grammar and Style — P.” Rutgers-Newark: The State University of New Jersey. 22 Apr. 2009 .

Pierce, Michelle. “Three Grammar Rules You Can (And Should) Break — Copyblogger.” Copywriting Tips for Online Marketing Success From Copyblogger — Copyblogger. 22 Apr. 2009 .

Precise Edit. “Ending Sentences with Prepositions.” Article Alley – All the Best News and Articles. 18 Jan. 2008. 22 Apr. 2009 .

Rogers, Cathy. “Are You Really Not Allowed to End a Sentence with a Preposition?.” wiseGEEK: clear answers for common questions. 22 Apr. 2009 .

Rogers, Cathy. “Are You Really Not Allowed to End a Sentence with a Preposition?.” wiseGEEK: clear answers for common questions. 22 Apr. 2009 .

Vorfeld, Jody. “Why can’t I end a sentence with a preposition? | Judy Vorfeld’s Office Support Services.” Judy Vorfeld’s Office Support Services. 22 Apr. 2009 .

Created at http://www.bibme.org

8 Responses to “To End With”

  1. Terri Johnson Says:

    Great point! My son, who is in 7th grade, will be delighted to know that he can, in fact, end a sentence with a preposition. Is it correct to say, “Where are you going to?”

  2. Jessica Says:

    Wow. I didn’t know this! I’m so happy to find this out because in High School I was told the opposite and have been trying to avoid this situation ever since. Thanks for the grammar help!

  3. wmchamberlain Says:

    This is great information to know of! (Best I can do ;})
    Mr. C

  4. Carey Pohanka Says:

    I feel so much better! All this time I’ve been trying to avoid ending my sentences with a preposition and it is really difficult! I’m going to bookmark this site so that when my mom (a grammar fanatic) corrects my sentences I can show her the proof!

  5. Can We Really Change The World « 6 sided number 2 Says:

    […] Can We Really Change The World April 22, 2009 So for our first “public” posting. I decided to challenge my kids with a question that I’ve always wondered about. As we were […]

  6. Mr. Cohen Says:

    I heard someone say once, that people who say you should never end a sentence with a preposition “have not got a leg on which to stand.”

  7. Nicole C. Says:

    Wow, a lot of leaving the sprayer on. And whoever broke their sister’s leg, was it on purpose. My cousin broke his brother’s leg in 4 spots and broke all but one of his toes by crushing his foot in between a car and a four- wheeler! He was, um, not happy. Lets leave it at that.

  8. Jordan Says:

    This is really cool! I have never seen anything like this before and I’m surprised i haven’t. This is very true and comical, you just made my day! 😀

Leave a Reply

